Posted by: BibleScienceGuy | September 28, 2016

Kepler’s To-Do List

(3 Minute Read)
Kepler

Kepler

Woof! Woof! This is Kepler again, Master’s Jack Russell terrier. I’m writing another article for Master’s blog.

Master is the BibleScienceGuy. Recently he discovered that I have a daily To-Do List. He suggested I write an article telling his readers what is on my list.

My kennelmate Henry does not have a To-Do List. He just ambles through life on a moment-by-moment basis, taking what comes without any forethought or plan. But I need a plan to make sure I don’t miss out on anything.

My To-Do List

1. Eat!
I like watching Master fix my food. I whimper, jump, and do 360s while he prepares food bowls for Henry and me. Master always makes me settle, lie down, and wait. But I am all aquiver, while he gets it ready.

2. Wash Dishes
This is my favorite daily task. I clean dishes for Missus with my tongue and return them to her bone-dry in pristine condition. Master is very impressed with my work. He wants to sell our dishwasher on Craig’s List, but Missus insists on using it for the dishes after I clean them. Why, I don’t know. The dishwasher can’t possibly get a dish any cleaner after I finish with it.

3. Check Basement
Six months ago I helped trap a squirrel in the basement, so now everyday I check the basement hoping to find another squirrel, chipmunk, or mouse. I do this five times a day just to make sure nothing slips in and sets up house.

The Creator made each creature,
from amoeba to man, for its own
place and purpose in Creation.

4. Take a Walk.
I take Master & Missus on at least one walk every day. They need the exercise — you should see their tummies! I have to walk right beside Master. The pace seems excruciatingly slow to a lightning-legged terrier like me, but the walks are important for their health. I let Henry come along on these walks, since he just stays beside Missus. You might be surprised to hear that Master never sniffs a single tree, bush, or signpost on our walks. It seems a shame to waste such a great big beautiful nose on him, because I never see him use it.

5. Check the Trash
This is not supposed to be on my list. But the trash has so many interesting smells that I have to check on it frequently. Missus does not like this, so I zip in when she’s not looking.

I lo-o-o-ve napkins and tissues — clean or used. Master and Missus always punish me when I eat one. They put me on my side, grip me with claw hands, scold me, and exile me to my crate with a blanket covering it. I hate the punishment! But when I see a tissue or napkin, I think to myself, “I’ll take the punishment,” and I grab it.

It’s not fair to punish me, because I see Master and Missus get a napkin or Kleenex whenever they want. Of course they don’t stuff it into their mouth, chew it up, and swallow it. Mmmm … they don’t know what they’re missing.

Kepler Rides Bike

Kepler Rides Bicycle with Master

6. Ride Bicycle
I try to ride a bicycle with Master or Missus every day, but it’s easier when we are camping. They want me to sit down in the basket, but I like to stand. I get a much better view riding in the bike basket than on walks.

Henry and I get very excited when we see Missus get her bike out. We jump and whimper and beg to go for a ride!

Once I jumped out of the basket while riding with Missus. She got very angry with me about it. I still don’t know what the big deal was. I landed on my feet and ran as fast as she could pedal.

7. Chase Squirrels
In an earlier article, I wrote about catching a chipmunk at a campground. Henry and I both like to chase the squirrels and chipmunks in Master’s backyard. Henry is good at this too, so I have drafted him into the Squirrel Patrol. I am Captain Kepler, and he is my right-paw-dog, Lieutenant Henry Morris.

Squirrels and chipmunks like to taunt us, staying just out of range. I like to surprise them with sudden dashes, but my tether usually pulls me up short of catching them … except one time when I caught the sassy little varmint when he miscalculated his taunting distance.

8. Sleep
I take several naps during the day to make sure my energy and focus is always on high alert. Sometimes Master and Missus are too relaxed about defending our campsite from an approaching coyote … or chihuahua. I waken instantly and leap to my feet at the earliest indication of approaching danger.

9. Play with Henry
Henry and I play together all day long. We chase each other around the house and wrestle. I get much more exercise in the winter now that Henry is here. We get along very well. Sometimes we even sleep together in the same crate.

Kepler

Kepler

10. Bark
If I don’t practice, I might lose this ability. Can someone please tell Master that God made dogs to bark? I get so tired of hearing the “Quiet” and “No Bark” commands. Master gives them to Henry and me many times every day! He says we need to learn self-control! But I never hear him give the Quiet or No Bark command to Missus! And sometimes she talks and laughs a lot! Shouldn’t she have to learn self-control? But Master seems to like her chatter.

Master thinks I bark too much. But I’m going to do it anyway.

Time to check the basement again for varmints. Till next time, Woof! Woof!

Questions to Ponder
  1. Every creature glorifies its Creator. How do your pets glorify the Creator?
  2. Jesus directed attention to the birds of the air as a vivid illustration of God’s faithful care over His creatures (Matthew 6:25-26). How can pets help us trust the Lord?
  3. Share your thoughts on these questions in the comments below. It could encourage or help another reader.

Soli Deo Gloria.

This is the 13th article in a series of blog posts on our Jack Russell terrier Kepler.
Read the prequels:
1. Why I Named Our Puppy “Kepler”
2. Kepler’s Kind
3. Kepler’s Lopsided Trade
4. Kepler’s Amazing Nose
5. Kepler’s Business Card
6. Kepler & the Psycho Squirrel
(with video)
7. Taunting Kepler
8. Adam and Puppies
9. Who Taught Kepler?
10. Kepler Gets a Buddy
(with video)
11. Kepler Chases a Squirrel
12. Kepler’s Complaint

Read the sequel:
14. Kepler and the Football Weekend

Bible-Science Guy logo

Subscribe – Don’t miss future blog posts!
Click the sidebar’s “SUBSCRIBE” button to follow the
Bible-Science Guy Blog. You’ll automatically receive
new posts free by email. Click SUBSCRIBE NOW!

©William T. Pelletier, Ph.D.
“contending earnestly for the faith”
“destroying speculations against the knowledge of God”
“for the defense of the gospel”
(Jude 1:3; 2 Cor 10:5; Phil 1:16)
Wednesday September 28, 2016 A.D.

But now ask the beasts, and let them teach you;
And the birds of the heavens, and let them tell you.
Or speak to the earth, and let it teach you;
And let the fish of the sea declare to you.
Who among all these does not know
That the hand of the LORD has done this,
In whose hand is the life of every living thing,
And the breath of all mankind?
(Job 12:7-10)


What do you think? Leave a comment...& please pray for the impact of the Bible-Science Guy ministry worldwide!

Categories

