Posted by: BibleScienceGuy | September 6, 2017

Kepler Finds Robin Eggs

(4 Minute Read)

Nesting American Robin

Woof! Woof! This is Kepler again, Master’s Parson (Jack) Russell terrier. I’m writing another article for Master’s blog.

Master is the BibleScienceGuy, and he asked me to tell about finding bird eggs four different times on our camping trips this year. Last time I told you about finding killdeer eggs, the first eggs we found. Today I will tell you about our next find, robin eggs.

I LOVE all kinds of eggs, so these bird egg finds have been very exciting for me. Our fourth and last find was the very best of all. I will tell about that one in a future report.

Robin Eggs

On one of my hikes this year with Master and Missus, my always-on nose alerted me to the presence of a robin. Master said he couldn’t smell it (his nose never works very well), so I pointed on the robin like an expert bird dog (even though my specialty is hunting badgers or boars). Then they saw it. Mrs. Robin was nesting in the corner of an old fence, pictured above.

I have learned about birds in our backyard. I know how to smell them, point them, and chase them. The main thing to know about birds is that birds have wings. Because of these wings, they are supposed to fly in the air or nest in trees. Generally, except for killdeers, birds are not supposed to be on the ground! So Henry and I try to make sure birds don’t land in our backyard. If they do, we fix it.

I was particularly interested in Mrs. Robin because the robin is the state bird for my home state of Michigan. Master told me that the robin was the first bird he learned to identify as a small boy, and the wren was the second. Both are songbirds. The robin’s song is a high-pitched varied warble. Robins will start to sing well before sunrise, even before roosters crow.

Master told me how as a boy he used to watch robins run across the lawn, pause and cock their head, and then suddenly strike the ground with their beak. He used to watch the robin grab a worm and tug and tug, stretching the worm to its limit in a taut line. Finally the worm would pop free from the ground, and the robin would enjoy a delicious repast.

This both enthralled and horrified me. First, how do robins find worms underground to pull out and eat? Secondly, how could robins eat worms (super-ugh!)?

Master explained that robins use sight, hearing, and touch to find worms. Robins have keen eyesight and can spot the end of a worm poking out of the ground. They also see minute changes in the ground as worms move just below the surface. As the worms move, robins can hear the sound of dirt particles rubbing against each other. They also feel the vibrations in the ground through their feet. All this data helps them know where to strike with their beak. They rarely miss.

“But why would a robin want to eat a worm?” I asked Master.

Master explained that worms are high in protein which birds need for strong flight muscles, bones, and feathers. Worms provide a wide variety of vitamins and minerals and lots of fat for energy. Master said a robin will eat up to 14 feet of worms per day.

Master told me robins turn worms into the delicious eggs I crave. Master suggested I go right to the source and start with worms. He offered to get worms for my food bowl. I said, “No, thank you. I prefer my protein in egg form.”

As we approached Mrs. Robin, she flew away, and we saw these three beautiful blue eggs in the nest, all ready for eating. But Master told me the mother bird would be sad if she returned to an empty nest. He said it would be better for the eggs to be left in the nest so baby birds could mature inside them. Besides, we could see Mrs. Robin a short distance away, circling around and keeping an eye on the nest.

Again I tried to bargain with Master, thinking we could leave two eggs and take one for me to eat. But it didn’t work, and I didn’t push too hard. There’s no point trying to get Master to change his mind. So I woefully trudged away with Master, sorry to leave such delicious eggs behind.

The next day we checked the nest and found four eggs. I was very excited. I begged Master for just two of the four robin eggs for my food bowl. I told him Mrs. Robin could lay more as demonstrated by the fact that she had just laid a fourth. But I couldn’t persuade Master to take them.

The following day on our early morning campground walk we again checked the nest. It was empty! Someone else had gotten the eggs. No shells were in evidence. Grrrrr! It just drives me crazy to think another dog may have successfully persuaded his master to take the eggs! I felt sad for Mrs. Robin, but more so for me.

Back we went to our camper for breakfast. And do you know what Master had for breakfast? EGGS! Nice big chicken eggs — he ate three of them with four strips of bacon. I could hardly stand it, the smell was so strong and tantalizing.

Master always eats before he feeds me and Henry. We just have to sit and wait and smell.

I have heard people say that you should not eat in front of your dogs without giving them something to eat as well. This made very good sense to me. But when I asked Master about it, he said the people who say that are the same ones who display bumper stickers proclaiming, “Dogs Are People Too!” Those people try to apply people courtesies to dogs.

Even I know that “Dogs Are People Too!” is baloney. I would not want to be a “people.” People noses just don’t work worth a flip. I would rather have a good nose than eyes or ears.

Also, Master pointed out to me that I eat in front of him when he doesn’t have anything to eat, and I am perfectly eager to do this with no thought for him. In fact, he does let me have all the tidbits we find on our walks. I appreciate that he doesn’t eat snacks we find on the ground like French fries, hot dog pieces, or bread. He lets me and Henry have them.

Next time I write, I will tell about finding more bird eggs.

So that’s how things look from the Dog House!

Till next time, this is Kepler signing off. Woof! Woof!

Questions to Ponder

1. What do you think? Should Master have let me have the robin eggs?
2. What do you think happened to the robin’s eggs?

Share your thoughts on these questions in the comments below. It could encourage or help another reader.

Soli Deo Gloria.

This is the 19th article in a series of blog posts on a precocious Jack Russell terrier named Kepler. Numbers 1-8 are by Kepler’s master, the BibleScienceGuy. Numbers 9-19 are by Kepler himself.
Read the prequels:
1. Why I Named Our Puppy “Kepler”
2. Kepler’s Kind
3. Kepler’s Lopsided Trade
4. Kepler’s Amazing Nose
5. Kepler’s Business Card
6. Kepler & the Psycho Squirrel
(with video)
7. Taunting Kepler
8. Adam and Puppies

The following posts are by Kepler:
9. Who Taught Kepler?
10. Kepler Gets a Buddy
(with video)
11. Kepler Chases a Squirrel (with video)
12. Kepler’s Complaint
13. Kepler’s To-Do List
14. Kepler and the Football Weekend
15. Kepler’s Favorite Store
16. Kepler at a Truck Stop
17. Kepler & Henry Catch a Squirrel
18. Kepler Finds Killdeer Eggs

Read the sequel:
20. Kepler Lives to Tell the Tale

Bible-Science Guy logo

Subscribe – Don’t miss future blog posts!
Click the sidebar’s “SUBSCRIBE” button to follow the
Bible-Science Guy Blog. You’ll automatically receive
new posts free by email. Click SUBSCRIBE NOW!

See the Bible-Science Guy Table of Contents for a list of all blog posts starting in October 2007.

©William T. Pelletier, Ph.D.
“contending earnestly for the faith”
“destroying speculations against the knowledge of God”
“for the defense of the gospel”
(Jude 1:3; 2 Cor 10:5; Phil 1:16)
Wednesday September 6, 2017 A.D.

But now ask the beasts, and let them teach you;
And the birds of the heavens, and let them tell you.
Or speak to the earth, and let it teach you;
And let the fish of the sea declare to you.
Who among all these does not know
That the hand of the LORD has done this,
In whose hand is the life of every living thing,
And the breath of all mankind?
(Job 12:7-10)

What do you think? Leave a comment...& please pray for the impact of the Bible-Science Guy ministry worldwide!

Categories

